Majestic Coron!

First time ko magsulat ng Taglish na blog. I realized that this blog is supposed to somehow express who I am, the way I speak, and how my ideas flow.  So, expect cluttered ideas here and there.

To be completely honest, I don’t really know much about Coron. When my two friends decided to book a flight for Coron early last year, they booked me and another friend as well. They just informed us afterwards that they have booked a flight for us already. So, imagine my surprise when I got a message telling me I’m on for a trip the following year. Since I haven’t been to Palawan (where Coron is), I felt elated. After having an ‘Amazing Race-ish’ trip to Guimaras-Iloilo-Bacolod and conquering Mt. Pulag with the group, I was sure right there and then that I’m up for another great experience.

Our short, but fun-packed, Visayas escapade

Our short but fun-packed Visayas escapade

Conquering Mt. Pulag!

Conquering Mt. Pulag!

(off topic)

February 14 came and I just wanted time to fly since I’ve been sulking all day. Haha.

Feb. 15. The first day.

We all woke up really early. My friends fetched me home at around 5:20 am and went straight to the airport. We arrived at NAIA terminal 3 just few minutes before 7 am. Since we have empty stomachs, we decided to eat breakfast at Kenny Rogers first. I ordered chicken while my friends ordered pancake with sausage, and ­­­­­­bread with bacon and omelet.

We have started eating when I realized that we’re supposed to be fasting. Oh-oh! @_@

Our flight was scheduled at 8:30 am so we still have an hour or so of free time. After checking in, we joined Ate Mavic in the waiting area since her flight’s at the afternoon pa. We sat, talked, and laughed real hard that we didn’t realize it’s already 15 minutes before our ETD.

shamelessly camwhoring while waiting to board

shamelessly camwhoring while waiting to board

But since we thought that we aren’t boarding yet, we leisurely walk going to the gate. But lo! We heard the Last Call advisory. They were already calling our names. Geezzz. We ran like there’s no tomorrow! Haha. When we arrived, a crew told us “kayo na lang po ang hinihintay”.  A shuttle suddenly arrived to give us a lift. We were the only ones on the shuttle. We were both amused and embarrassed. Boy, that was our first time to get called! As we recalled how we ran like crazies, we giggled and later burst into fits of laughters. Mind you, at the back of my mind, I felt a bit panicky. We could have missed our flight!

While we were on the shuttle bus, a crew suddenly flagged down and joined us. I just have to say this… (haha) he’s really good looking! My friends and I were exchanging looks when Mia suddenly asked the guy to take us a picture. Silly me! I was hoping Mia would take a picture of us. Hahahaha. Just kidding.

Picture taken by kuyang pogi

Picture taken by kuyang pogi

It took us maybe 5 minutes before we reached our plane. I didn’t know that the aircraft is tad smaller than the usual flights I had before. So, I was a bit scared. T.T

The four of us were supposed to sit beside each other. But when we reached our designated seats, a sleeping foreigner was already sitting there. It was supposed to be Ate J’s seat, but being the courteous girls (Ate J and Maki) that they are, they chose not to make a fuss out of it and ended up taking another seats. They were supposed to be seated across us but they ended up taking two seats behind us. I was quite disappointed. (Side note: Most of the passengers are foreigners)

I was thinking of things to do while waiting for the plane to take off. Good thing I brought my Japanese book with me but I can’t seem to concentrate. I was really bored during the flight that I was checking the magazine, reading my book, looking to Mia (who’s past asleep), looking at others, and checking the view outside in repetitive fashion, albeit not in the same order. It took us about 45 minutes to reach Busuanga airport.

When the plane landed, my excitement came back almost instantly. The airport is lowtech and it doesn’t even have a conveyor belt. A crew basically hands the baggage manually — but it’s fine! We actually found it really amusing. The network signal isn’t good as well and the airport doesn’t have aircon. It was really laid-back. I felt like traveling back in time.

I tried not to do a research about Coron prior to our flight because I want to be surprised by what it could offer. And boy, it didn’t disappoint!

<to be continued>

Preview of how enchanting Coron is

Credits to Ms. J for taking this picture

Credits to Ms. J for taking this picture

Leave a comment